The Amyrlin Seat

The Amyrlin is chosen by the Hall of the Tower and ends her reign in only three ways: death, being deposed by the Hall, or retirement from the order of the Aes Sedai.

The Amyrlin‘s full title is "Watcher of the Seals. The Flame of Tar Valon. The Amyrlin Seat," but she is usually just referred to as the Amyrlin. The Amyrlin is assisted in her duties by the Keeper of the Chronicles, who is second in command and traditionally sits in on most audiences.

The Amyrlin Seat conducts most of her business in The Amyrlin's Study, save for ceremonial events and addresses to the Tower. The study is connected directly to the Amyrlin's personal chambers.

She rules both the White Tower and the surrounding city of Tar Valon. She sits on a chair, also called the Amyrlin Seat, having been raised to it from any of the seven Ajahs. She forsakes her former Ajah to be "from all Ajahs and yet of none", symbolized by her stole striped with all seven Ajah colors. The Amyrlin is the supreme authority among the Aes Sedai, who formally refer to her as "Mother" and she to them as "daughter" or "child" for Accepted and novices.

She is widely recognized as one of the most powerful women in the Westlands, though she can be deposed for malfeasance by the Sitters of the Hall. This is referred to as being "stripped of stole and staff" and has only happened four times in recorded history.

Elected by all seven Ajahs, it is her role to rule over the Hall and Tar Valon, though it is expected that all decisions are discussed with the Hall prior to being made law.

As the head of the White Tower, the Amyrlin is expected to liaise with the Sitters of the Hall, maintaining the strength of the Tower; because the Amyrlin Seat is seen as only a first among equals in the Hall of the Tower. This balance is very important. It has been suggested that the reason Siuan Sanche was deposed was because she failed to maintain the balance. It has also been suggested that her youth was at fault, being the youngest Amyrlin raised at only 30 years old.

Previous Amyrlins

109 FA – Present

Katreine din Ziago Tempest Winds

80 FA – 109 FA

Silviana Brehon

54 FA – 80 FA

Sharina Melloy

13 FA - 54 FA

Saerin Asnobar

1000 NE – 13 FA

Cadsuane Melaidhrin

All previous known Amyrlins

Wiki Listing